“SharedSpace Switzerland” is Switzerland’s preliminary programme in the run-up to the Prague Quadrennial 2015. It is organised by the Swiss Arts Council Pro Helvetia in collaboration with Festival Antigel in Geneva, trans4mator and HAUS FÜR KUNST URI.
The Prague Quadrennial 2015 presents scenography as a transdisciplinary field in which elements of the performative and visual arts, architecture and cultural studies are combined with given social and environmental factors.

The SharedSpace Switzerland programme is dedicated to contemporary scenography and, specifically, to the role of scenography when it comes to sharing space. The events involved provide opportunities for visitors to experience what can be achieved by contemporary scenography, as well as for encounters and for in-depth exchange among specialists. Dance and music performances at Festival Antigel in Geneva, for example, aim to demonstrate how precise scenographic intervention can define spaces, enabling them to be experienced in new and unexpected ways. At special theme days under the heading of performaCITY Basel, the notion of public space as scenographic space is explored by means of performances, roundtable discussions and lectures.

Between January and August 2015, scenographic topics will be subject to in-depth debates among experts from various scenography-related disciplines at four “Salons scénographiques”. The main focus will be on the question of how and to what extent someone’s professional background influences their understanding of scenography. Does scenographic intervention mean the same for somebody from the performative arts as it does for someone from the visual arts or the fields of architecture or cultural studies? What common ground is there, and in what ways do their concepts differ?

From 13 June to 23 August 2015, HAUS FÜR KUNST URI in Altdorf will provide a stage for the Swiss artist duo Lang/Baumann.

The Prague Quadrennial 2015 is scheduled for 18 to 28 June. It offers an attractive and internationally oriented programme comprising exhibitions, performances and events in various formats, dedicated to scenography in all its diversity. Switzerland will be represented with the programme “Under the Tail of the Horse” in the Countries and Regions section and with “Räumliche Verhandlungspraxis” (spatial negotiation practice) in the Students section.

SharedSpace Switzerland is part of the preliminary programme initiated by the Prague Quadrennial 2015 called SharedSpace: Music Weather Politics 2013 -16, which has been jointly set up by 13 European institutions and provides for events in 11 different countries.

The Prague Quadrennial (PQ) 2015 met with a massive and enthusiastic audience response, registering over 180,000 admissions during the eleven-day exhibition period.

68 countries overall took part in the presentations for the Section of Countries and Regions and the Student Section. Other positions were shown at the Objects und Makers exhibitions curated by PQ, and over 600 events were held, some of them in the Talks und Tribes category. www.pq.cz/en/program/intro

Switzerland’s contribution to PQ’15 was entitled Under the Tail of the Horse, encompassing the three components Wenceslas Line, Podoli Wave and Reception. With the Wenceslas Line installation by Markus Lüscher / Erik Steinbrecher on Wenceslas Square, the performance Podoli Wave curated by Eric Linder at the Podoli swimming stadium, and Reception at Clam Gallas Palace, the festival centre, Switzerland displayed three impressive and widely noted positions. Reception was the Swiss information point and site of the photo essays by Iren Stehli and Rishabh Kaul, who had accompanied the scenographic interventions of the Swiss contribution on Wenceslas Square and in the Podoli swimming stadium with their cameras. ŠUNKA BUCH from Erik Steinbrecher was published on the Occasion of his collaboration to Under the Tail of the Horse.

The official opening of the Swiss country programme on 18 June was conducted in the form of a festive excursion leading around one hundred invited guests by tram and on foot from Wenceslas Square to the performance at Podoli swimming stadium.

Switzerland’s country programme was well received by the public and, moreover, won a PQ’15 award:

The Gold Medal PQ 2015 for Best Performance Design Photo went to Iren Stehli for her photo essay on the Wenceslas Line installation.

Besides the contributions Under the Tail of the Horse in the Section of Countries and Regions and Reflexion als räumliche Praxis (reflexion as spatial practice; Bachelor in Scenography course at the Zurich University of the Arts) in the Student Section, Switzerland was well represented outside the country contribution category, too, with:

Massimo Furlan (Blue Tired Heroes www.pq.cz/en/galleries/2015/7/8/tribes-blue-tired-heroes and www.pq.cz/en/news/2015/6/28/blue-tired-heroes-streets-prague

Stefan Kaegi (lecture within the framework of Talks www.pq.cz/en/news/2015/6/24/pq-talks-performative-screen-iii-rimini-protokoll

Dominic Huber (jury member).

Team of curators on behalf of Pro Helvetia: Eric Linder, musician, artistic director of Festival Antigel; Markus Lüscher, architect; Imanuel Schipper, dramaturgue and cultural studies specialist; Barbara Zürcher, director and curator at Haus für Kunst Uri

More photos and information

Opening of the Swiss contribution «Under the Tail of the Horse»

Wenceslas Line

Podoli Wave Performance

Reception

 

  • wenceslas line_©iren stehli

  • wenceslas line_©iren stehli

  • wenceslas line_©iren stehli

  • wenceslas line_©iren stehli

  • Podoli wet paradise_©rishabh kaul

  • Podoli wet paradise_©rishabh kaul

  • Podoli wet paradise_©rishabh kaul

  • Podoli wet paradise_©rishabh kaul

  • Podoli wet paradise_©rishabh kaul

  • Opening Swiss Contribution

  • Die Gold Medal PQ 2015 for Best Performance Design Photo ging an Iren Stehli für den Photoessay zur Installation Wenceslas Line.

The concept of “scenography” originated in the theatre, but it no longer refers to classical stage design alone. Nowadays, the staging of space occurs throughout the public sphere: from the political speech to the shopping centre, from the virtual worlds of video games to prison cells and entire villages. This issue of Passages shines a spotlight on the various aspects and applications of an art form that, although it is still not very well-known, can be found nearly everywhere.

SharedSpace Switzerland ist das Vorprogramm der Schweiz zur Prag Quadriennale 2015. Es wird von der Schweizer Kulturstiftung Pro Helvetia in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Festival Antigel Genf, trans4mator und dem Haus für Kunst Uri organisiert.Die Prag Quadriennale 2015 präsentiert Szenografie als ein transdisziplinäres Feld, das im Zusammenwirken von performativen und visuellen Künsten, Architektur und Kulturwissenschaften, in Abhängigkeit von gesellschaftlichen Gegebenheiten bespielt wird.

Das Programm SharedSpace Switzerland ist der aktuellen Szenografie gewidmet und der Funktion von Szenografie, wenn es darum geht, Raum zu teilen. Die Veranstaltungen bieten einerseits Gelegenheiten zu erleben, was zeitgenössische Szenografie leisten kann und andererseits Möglichkeiten zum vertieften fachlichen Austausch. So führten die Tanz- und Musikveranstaltungen des Festival Antigel in Genf vor Augen, wie Räume durch präzise szenografische Eingriffe definiert und damit unerwartet und neu erfahren werden können, während im Rahmen der Thementage performaCITY Basel in Performances, Round Tables und Vorträge der öffentliche Raum als szenografischer Raum untersucht wurde.

Zwischen Januar und August 2015 werden szenografische Fragestellungen in vier Salons scénographiques von Fachleuten aus verschiedenen, die Szenografie betreffenden Disziplingen vertieft diskutiert. Im Zentrum dieser Gespräche steht die Frage, inwieweit und in welcher Weise der professionelle Hintergrund den Szenografiebegriff prägt: Bedeutet szenografisches Handeln im Kontext der performativen Künste dasselbe, wie für die visuellen Künste, Architektur oder Kulturwissenschaften? Wo sind sich die Konzepte ähnlich und in welchen Aspekten unterscheiden sie sich?

Vom 13. Juni bis 23. August 2015 wird das HAUS FüR KUNST URI in Altdorf vom Schweizer Kollektiv Lang/Baumann bespielt.

Zwischen 18. und 28. Juni findet die Prag Quadriennale 2015 statt. Es erwartet uns ein international ausgerichtetes und vielversprechendes Programm mit Ausstellungen, Performances und Veranstaltungen unterschiedlichen Formats, die der Szenografie in all ihren Facetten gewidmet sind. Mit dem Programm “Under the Tail of the Horse” in der Section of Countries and Regions und mit dem Studierendenprojekt “Räumliche Verhandlungspraxis” wird auch die Schweiz vertreten sein. SharedSpace Switzerland ist Teil des von der Prag Quadrenniale 2015 initiierten Vorpramms SharedSpace: Music Weather Politics 2013 -16, das von dreizehn europäischen Institutionen konzipiert wird und Veranstaltungen in elf Ländern bietet.

Mit über 180’000 Eintritten während der elf Ausstellungtage fand die PQ’15 ein grosses und begeistertes Publikum.

Insgesamt beteiligten sich 68 Länder an den Präsentationen der Section of Countries and Regions und der Student Section, weitere Positionen fanden sich in den durch die PQ kuratierten Ausstellungen Objects und Makers, zusätzlich fanden über 600 Veranstaltungen statt, teilweise im Rahmen der Talks und Tribes. www.pq.cz/en/program/intro

Der Schweizer Länderauftritt für die PQ’15 stand unter dem Titel Under the Tail of the Horse, der den thematischen Rahmen für die drei Teilbeiträge Wenceslas Line, Podoli Wave und Reception bildete. Mit der Konstruktion Wenceslas Line von Markus Lüscher / Erik Steinbrecher auf dem Wenzelsplatz, der von Eric Linder kuratierten Performance Podoli Wave im Podoli Schwimmstadion und Reception im Festivalzentrum Clam Gallas Palast bot die Schweiz drei starke und vielbeachtete Positionen. Reception war der Schweizer Informationspunkt und Ausstellungsort für Fotoessays von Iren Stehli und Rishabh Kaul, die die szenografischen Interventionen des Schweizer Beitrages auf dem Wenzelsplatz und im Podoli Schwimmstadion mit ihren Kameras begleitet hatten. ŠUNKA BUCH von Erik Steinbrecher entstand im Zusammenhang mit seiner Beteiligung an Under the Tail of the Horse.

Die Eröffnung des Schweizer Länderbeitrages wurde als festliche Exkursion gestaltet, die am 18. Juni rund hundert geladene Gäste vom Wenzelsplatz per Tram und zu Fuss zur Performance im Podoli Schwimmstadion führte.

Der Schweizer Länderbeitrag wurde vom Publikum gut aufgenommen und von der PQ’15 mit einem Award ausgezeichnet:

Die Gold Medal PQ 2015 for Best Performance Design Photo ging an Iren Stehli für den Photoessay zur Installation Wenceslas Line.

Neben den Beiträgen Under the Tail of the Horse in der Section of Countries and Regions und Reflexion als räumliche Praxis (Studiengang Szenografie der ZHdK) in der Student Section war die Schweiz auch ausserhalb der Länderbeiträge gut vertreten mit:

Massimo Furlan (mit Blue Tired Heroes www.pq.cz/en/galleries/2015/7/8/tribes-blue-tired-heroes und www.pq.cz/en/news/2015/6/28/blue-tired-heroes-streets-prague

Stefan Kaegi (Lecture im Rahmen der Talks www.pq.cz/en/news/2015/6/24/pq-talks-performative-screen-iii-rimini-protokoll

Dominic Huber (Jurymitglied).

Kurationsteam im Auftrag der Pro Helvetia: Eric Linder, Musiker, künstlerischer Leiter Festival Antigel; Markus Lüscher, Architekt; Imanuel Schipper, Dramaturg Kulturwissenschaftler; Barbara Zürcher, Direktorin und Kuratorin Haus für Kunst Uri.

Weitere Bilder und Informationen unter

Eröffnung des Schweizer Beitrages

Wenceslas Line

Podoli Wave Performance

Reception

  • wenceslas line_©iren stehli

  • wenceslas line_©iren stehli

  • wenceslas line_©iren stehli

  • wenceslas line_©iren stehli

  • Podoli wet paradise_©rishabh kaul

  • Podoli wet paradise_©rishabh kaul

  • Podoli wet paradise_©rishabh kaul

  • Podoli wet paradise_©rishabh kaul

  • Podoli wet paradise_©rishabh kaul

  • Opening Swiss Contribution

  • Die Gold Medal PQ 2015 for Best Performance Design Photo ging an Iren Stehli für den Photoessay zur Installation Wenceslas Line.

Der Begriff «Szenografie» ist historisch zwar im Theater verankert, beschränkt sich aber längst nicht mehr auf die klassische Bühne. Die Inszenierung im Raum hat sich mittlerweile praktisch aller öffentlicher Bereiche bemächtigt. Nicht nur die politische Rede, auch Einkaufszentren, virtuellen Welten in Videogames, Gefängniszellen und ganze Dörfer werden in Szene gesetzt. Passagen beleuchtet die vielfältigen Wirkungsfelder und Aspekte dieser nicht sehr bekannten, tatsächlich aber omnipräsenten Kunst.